Please support our Reporters

Open Dates
2023 HS Football Schedules
Coaching Jobs

HS Football Scoreboard

2022 Mr. PA Football winners announced

Written by: on Sunday, March 26th, 2023. Follow David Mika on Twitter.


HARRISBURG – On Saturday afternoon, at the Country Club of Harrisburg, the award winners were announced. The votes were determined by fans and media members.

The awards are sponsored by and owner Wayde Marsico. 

The night got started with the announcement of the Three Star award to Lower Dauphin’s Charlie Fortney. He is heading to Shippensburg. 

The 2022 “Mickey Minnich” Legendary Coach Award went to Wyomissing Area’s Bob Wolfrum.

The Lineman awards for the 2022 season went to J’Ven Williams and Riley Robell. Williams is already enrolled in Penn State and was named Mr. PA Small School (1A-3A) lineman of the year. 

Robell was named Big School (4A-6A) lineman of the year. He had 68 tackles, 36 for loss, and three sacks last season. He has committed to James Madison.

He is a two-time heavyweight wrestling champion in 2A. 

The Michael Payton Memorial Quarterback Award winner for the 2022 season was Samaj Jones of St. Joseph’s Prep.

Jones led his team to the 6A PIAA State title. He threw for 2,526 yards and 32 touchdowns. 

The Big School (4A-6A) winner was picked between So. QB Stone Saunders of Bishop McDevitt, Jr. QB Samaj Jones of St. Joseph’s Prep, Sr. RB/S Abubakarr Kamara of Interboro, Sr. RB/LB Jaheim White of York High and Sr. QB/S Ryan Palmieri of Pine-Richland. 

The 2022 winner was sophomore quarterback Stone Saunders. Saunders passed for 3,583 yards and 54 touchdowns leading McDevitt to the 2022 Class 4A State title. He threw for 168 yards and 5 touchdowns in a win over Aliquippa. 

Stone couldn’t be there last night because he was visiting Notre Dame. His mother accepted the award on his behalf. 

The Small School (1A-3A) winner was picked between Sr. QB/S Jeff Hoenstine of Central, Jr. QB Alex Erby of Steelton-Highspire (3), Sr. RB/QB Braeden Wisloski of Southern Columbia, Sr. QB/S Karson Kiesewetter of Bishop Guilfoyle, Jr. RB/S Quinton Martin of Belle Vernon and Sr. OT/OG/DT J’Ven Williams of Wyomissing Area. 

The 2022 winner was record-setting quarterback Jeff Hoenstine of Central. Hoenstine is a three-time All-State selection and in 2022 threw for 3,996 yards and 57 touchdowns. At quarterback, he led his team to a 34-4 record as a starter. 

Past Mr. PA Football winners are:

Class 4A-6A

2010       Rushel Shell – Hopewell High School & West Virginia 

2011*     Rushel Shell – Hopewell High School & West Virginia 

2011*    Noah Spence – Bishop McDevitt High School & Ohio State 

2012       Robert Foster – Central Valley High School & University of Alabama

2013       Andrew Ford – Cedar Cliff High School & Virginia Tech 

2014       Saquon Barkley – Whitehall High School & Penn State 

2015       Miles Sanders – Woodland Hills High School & Penn State 

2016       D’Andre Swift – St. Joseph’s Prep & Georgia

2017       Philip Jurkovec – Pine-Richland High School & Notre Dame

2018       Daequan Hardy – Penn Hills High School & Penn State 

2019       Evan Simon – Manheim Central High School & Rutgers 

2020       Kyle McCord – St. Joseph’s Prep & Ohio State 

2021       Nicholas Singleton – Governor Mifflin High School & Penn State 

Class 1A-3A

2010       Desimon Green – Clairton High School & Texas Tech/California (Pa.) 

2011       Tyler Boyd – Clairton High School & Pittsburgh

2012       Tyler Boyd – Clairton High School & Pittsburgh

2013       DeAndre Scott – Imhotep Charter High School & Arizona State 

2014       Dominick Bragalone – South Williamsport High School & Lehigh

2015       Michael Shuster – Camp Hill High School & Penn State 

2016       Lamont Wade – Clairton High School & Penn State 

2017       Robert Kennedy – Jeannette High School & Lackawanna College

2018       Julian Fleming – Southern Columbia High School & Ohio State

2019       Julian Fleming – Southern Columbia High School & Ohio State University

2020       Josh Hough – Beaver Falls High School & Syracuse University

2021       Gavin Garcia – Southern Columbia High School & Kent State University


Past Mr. PA Football Lineman winners are:

Class 4A-6A

2016 Joshua Lugg – North Allegheny & Notre Dame

2017 Micah Parsons – Harrisburg & Penn State

2018 Andrew Kristofic – Pine-Richland & Notre Dame

2019 Nicholas Dawkins – Parkland & Penn State

2020  Nolan Rucci – Warwick & Wisconsin

2021 Enai White – Imhotep Charter & Texas A&M

Class 1A-3A

2016 Donovan Jeter – Beaver Falls & Michigan

2017 Justin Johnson – Neumann-Goretti & Oregan

2018 Ja Quay Hubbard – Sharpsville & West Virginia 

2019 Dayon Hayes – Westinghouse & Notre Dame

2020 CJ Dippre – Lakeland & Maryland

2021 Sean FitzSimmons – Central Valley & Pittsburgh


Past Michael Payton Memorial Quarterback winners are:

2018 Kane Everson – Harrisburg & William & Mary

2019 Ricky Ortega – Coatesville & Villanova 

2020 Ameer Dudley – Central Valley & Harvard

2021 Beau Pribula – Central York & Penn State

Follow on Twitter @EPAFootball

Leave a Reply