Please support our Reporters

Open Dates
Coaching Jobs
Football Camps and 7v7

EPA Statewide Scoreboard

2020 Pennsylvania Mini Max High School Award Winners

Written by: on Thursday, January 14th, 2021. Follow David Mika on Twitter.


Maxwell Football Club President, Mark Dianno, announced the 2020 Mini Max High School Award winners for the state of Pennsylvania. The sixty-eight players selected are from schools from Districts 1, 3, 11, and 12 in the eastern part of the state. Players were nominated by their coaches throughout the 2020 season and were evaluated based on criteria that include: football performance, academics, and community service.

The Maxwell Football Club will select one player from the group of Mini Max winners as the winner of the Pennsylvania Player of the Year. The Pennsylvania High School Player of the Year will be announced through a press release on January 25, 2021.

The Maxwell Football Club also released the Delaware and New Jersey Mini Max Award winners today. Delaware and New Jersey players from throughout the state were eligible for selection as part of the program.

The winner of the New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Delaware Player of the Year awards will be the candidates for the Club’s 35th Jim Henry Award as the Outstanding Player in the region. The winner of the Jim Henry Award will be announced on February 1, 2021.

Recent winners of the Jim Henry Award include Will Howard (Downingtown West H.S. – Kansas State), Keith Maguire (Malvern Prep – Clemson), Shayne Simon (St. Peters Prep – Notre Dame), Jonathan Taylor (Salem H.S. – Wisconsin), Brandon McIlwain (Council Rock North H.S – South Carolina/Cal), Kyle Shurmur (LaSalle College H.S. – Vanderbilt), Mark Pyles (Lebanon H.S – Bucknell Univ.) Fran Walsh (Archbishop Wood H.S – Villanova Univ.), Brendan Nosovitch (Allentown Central Catholic – University of South Carolina), Bill Kim (Upper Dublin H.S – Johns Hopkins), Brad Herzlich (Conestoga H.S – Brown University), Daniel Persa (Bethlehem Liberty H.S – Northwestern.), Brent Caprio (Mainland Regional H.S. – William & Mary), Steven Rizzo (Audubon H.S. – Colgate), Pat Devlin (Downingtown East H.S. – Delaware), Ryan Greiser (Pennridge H.S. – Liberty Univ.), Dan Connor (Strath Haven H.S. – Penn State) and Austin Scott (Parkland H.S – Penn State).

On this year’s honorees, Maxwell Football Club President, Mark Dianno, said “This year’s group of Mini-Max winners were challenged by more than just their on-field opponents. They had to contend with circumstances of the pandemic impacting their families, communities, schools, teachers, academics, practices, coaches, and games; yet they consistently rose to meet those challenges and performed extraordinary feats on the fields, in their classrooms and in their respective communities. On behalf of the entire Board of Directors and all the members of the Maxwell Football Club, we congratulate and salute this exceptional group of student-athletes on being 2020 Mini-Max Award winners and wish them much success in their future endeavors.”

The sixty-eight 2020 Pennsylvania Mini Max Winners are listed alphabetically by school:

First Name Last Name School
Isaiah Rogers Academy Park High School
Macrae Plummer Annville Cleona High School
Darryl Simpson Archbishop John Carroll High School
Mark McFadden Berks Catholic High School
Joachim McElroy Bishop McDevitt High School
James Welde Bonner & Prendie High School
Daniel Shuster Camp Hill High School
Anthony Giordano Central Bucks East High School
Jackson Spradlin Central Bucks West High School
Levi Krebs Central Dauphin East High School
Blaise Heshler Central Dauphin High School
Jack Smith Central York High School
Zachary Gaffin Cheltenham High School
Benjamin Bearinger Cocalico High School
Michael Costigan Conestoga High School
Zach Fisher Conestoga Valley High School
Erik Moyer Conrad Weiser High School
Luke Molden Council Rock North High School
Jordan Mitchell Delaware County Christian School
Carson Snelbaker Dover Area High School
Nick Lovenguth Downingtown East High School
Julian Williams Downingtown West High School
Christian Sapp East Stroudsburg South High School
Brandon Bohannon ELCO High School
Brock Boyer Ephrata High School
Alex Nicolaides Garnet Valley High School
Angelo Leon George School
Jeff Decker Germantown Academy
Cam’Ron Stewart Governor Mifflin High School
Christopher Molineaux Harriton High School
Allan Bailor Jim Thorpe High School
Alex Knapp Lampeter-Strasburg High School
Paul Jennings LaSalle College High School
Benjamin Terry Mahanoy Area High School
Lonnie White Jr Malvern Prep
Evan Clark Manheim Township High School
Ryan Lain Marple Newtown High School
Matthew Pajuste Martin Luther King High School
Mario D’Addesi Methacton High School
Christopher James Neshaminy High School
Phillip Weinseimer New Hope-Solebury HS
DJ Fisher North Penn High School
Mike Repsher Northern Lehigh High School
Dante Denardo Owen J. Roberts High School
Mason Smeland Palisades High School
Owen Buck Palmerton High School
Shane Hartzell Pennridge High School
Aidan Foley Phoenixville Area High School
Rocco DiRico Pope John Paul II High School
Jahzeel Watson Pottstown High School
Randy Fizer Jr. Red Lion Area High School
Nate Desmond Ridley High School
Mason Reber Schuykill Haven Area
Jacob Horton Souderton Area High School
JC Rizzuto Southern Lehigh High School
Nicholas Teets Spring-Ford High School
Luke Gozzard Springfield Township High School
Kyle McCord St Joseph’s Prep High School
Tydre Hollad-Alli Steelton-Highspire High School
Owen Wiener Susquehanna Township High School
Billy Adams The Episcopal Academy
Micah Bootman Upper Dublin High School
Stefano Nikolaou Upper Merion High School
Ryan Schernecke Upper Moreland High School
Ryan Duell West Chester East High School
Patrick Esemplare West Chester Henderson High School
Aaron Maione William Penn Charter
Michael Fath Wissahickon High School


Follow on Twitter @EPAFootball

Leave a Reply

One Response to “2020 Pennsylvania Mini Max High School Award Winners”

  1. Angelo Leon ’21 Wins Mini Maxwell Award – George School says:

    […] School Senior Angelo Leon ’21 has been selected to receive the Mini Maxwell Award. Each year, the Mini Maxwell Awards are presented to high school football players based on […]