Player Stats
Position Rankings
EPA Top 5 Players

EPA Statewide Scoreboard

2017 Team Preview – South Western Mustangs (3)

Written by: on Monday, August 14th, 2017. Follow David Mika on Twitter.


Head Coach: Chris Heilman

Assistant Coaches: Doug Wherley, Eric Staub, Doug Morela, Kyle Wildasin, Scott Barnhart, Tom Trone, Ryan Kress

Team Name: South Western

2016 Record: 4-6

2017 Schedule:

Key Starters lost: 

Defense (10): Bubba Carbaugh (DL) (Shippensburg), AR Reusing (DL) (West Chester), Quan Marshall (DL) (Lock Haven), Tommy Aumen (DL), Carson Perry (OLB), Austin Snyder (ILB), Evan Raubenstine (ILB), Nate VanCampen (DB) (Susquehanna), Teian Moore (DB), Drew Hartlaub (DB) (Penn State)

Offense (7): Bubba Carbaugh (OL), AR Reusing (OL), Tommy Aumen (OL), Evan Raubenstine (OL), Drew Hartlaub (RB), Nate Vancampen (QB), Teian Moore (RB)

Offensive Starters Returning: (8): Sean Wolfe (QB), Delunche Shaw (RB), Thaddeus Davis (RB), Shareef Jakes (WR), Log Toms (OL), Kaiden Gaylord (OL), Wyatt Laudicina (TE), Cole Stremmel (TE)

Defensive Starters Returning: (5): Kaiden Gaylord (ILB), Cole Stremmel (ILB), Shareff Jakes (OLB), Josh Higdon (OLB), Log Toms (DT)

Special Team Starters Returning: (1) Delunche Shaw will be back to return kickoffs & punts.

Key Team Stats: 

Delunche Shaw- 909 All Purpose Yards

Cole Stremmel- 77 tackles

2017 Outlook: The 2017 South Western Mustang Football TEAM will be loaded with skill player talent. The TEAM returns its top two leading rushers (Delunche Shaw (537 YDS), Thaddeus Davis (357 YDS)) as well as mid-year starting Quarterback Sean Wolfe (27/60, 398 YDS, 3 TD/4 INT).

This should ease the loss of Penn State bound Drew Hartlaub. Junior Quarterback Derek Huff will challenge Wolfe for the starting QB position. Seniors Josh Hidgon, Grayson Wingert, and Juniors Maeson Felton, Desmond Moore, Nick Boone, Ryan Sheehan, and Eric David-Celaya will also compete for starting positions.

However, as the football saying goes, “It all starts up front.” The offensive and defensive lines must be rebuilt with the losses of AR Reusing (West Chester), Bubba Carbaugh (Shippensburg), Tommy Aumen, and Quan Marshall (Lock Haven). Returning starters include Kaiden Gaylord (OL), Login Toms (OL), Cole Stremmel (TE) and Wyatt Laudicina (TE). Looking to compete for positions will be seniors John Welker, Adrien White, Sam Hacker, Jacob Sager, Tyler Darragh, Aaron Hull, as well as Juniors Tyler Herbison and Dalton Stacho.

The experience at linebacker will help with this transition. Returning starters include TEAM second leading tackler Cole Stremmel (77 tackles), Gaylord, Shareff Jakes, and Hidgon. Furthermore, although inexperienced with the losses of Nate VanCampen (Susquehanna), Teian Moore, and Hartlaub, the Defensive Secondary will be very athletic. Players competing for positions will include Wingert, Jayce Martin, Dylan Weaver, Felton, Moore, Celaya, and Logan Shuman.

This will be the 58th Mustang Football Season and the first with artificial turf at the Corral. It will be the 40th anniversary of the 1977 Championship TEAM, the 35th anniversary of the 1982 Championship TEAM, the 25th anniversary of the 1992 Championship TEAM, and the 20th anniversary of the 1997 Championship TEAM.


Follow on Twitter @EPAFootball

Leave a Reply

The Funding Zone
Small Player - Big Player