2 Henlopen Conference team win DIAA Division I and II State Title first time since 2008

Written by: on Sunday, December 4th, 2016. Follow David Mika on Twitter.


By David A. Willauer-Contributing Writer-In a battle of undefeated teams, the Eagles of Smyrna behind Wil Knight’s touchdown runs of 11 yards, 14 yards, 46 yards and teammate Nolan Henderson 11 yard touchdown run as they won their second Division I football title in a row as they defeated the previously undefeated Cavaliers of Middletown by a 36-14 score. Smyrna finishes the season at 13-0.

For the first time in the town of Bridgeville and for the Division II Football Title the Woodbridge Raiders finished their continue their undefeated season at 13-0 on Terrance Riddick’s 4 yard run along with the game winner by Blue Raider quarterback 21 yard touchdown as they defeated the Quakers of Wilmington Friends by a 14-9 score.

This marks the first time since 2008 that 2 Henlopen Conference team won the Division I and II Titles. Caesar Rodney won D I and Milford D II won titles in 2008 the other time was 1988 when Dover won D I and Indian River won D II.

Follow EasternPAFootball.com on Twitter @EPAFootball

Leave a Reply

The Funding Zone
Small Player - Big Player