Player Stats
Position Rankings
EPA Top 5 Players

EPA Statewide Scoreboard

Trenton Thompson Announced as Maxwell Football Club National High School Player of the Year

Written by: on Wednesday, January 21st, 2015. Follow David Mika on Twitter.


t.thompsonMaxwell Club President Ron Jaworski today announced that Trenton Thompson, from Westover High School, Albany, Georgia has been selected as the 2014 Maxwell Football Club’s National High School Player of the Year.

Thompson, a 6-4, 311-pound defensive tackle, was dominating during the past season posting 84 tackles, 36 tackles for loss, 4 sacks, 1 interception and 1 fumble recovery. He earned All-State honors and was selected to play in the U.S. Army All-American Bowl earlier this month. Thompson was also recognized as the USA Today Defensive Player of the Year.

“Trenton has been vital to the success that our football program has experienced during his high school career. He has helped us win the first region football championship in our school’s history and has brought national attention to our football community” said Westover coach Octavia Jones Jr. “His positive, humble attitude and intrinsic motivation has made him one of the nation’s elite high school football players and Trenton is the epitome of what a student athlete should be. Being named the Maxwell Football Club National High School Football Player of the Year is certainly a distinguished honor that all of the Westover football community will be proud of for ages to come.”

Thompson joins previous Maxwell Football Club National High School Players of the Year, Will Grier (2013 Davidson Day School – Florida), Derrick Henry (2012 Yulee HS – Alabama), Noah Spence (2011 Bishop McDevitt HS – Ohio State), Jeff Driskel (2010 Hagerty HS – Florida), Sharif Floyd (2009 George Washington – Florida), Jamarkus McFarland (2008 Lufkin HS – Oklahoma) and DeVier Posey (2007 Cincinnati LaSalle – Ohio State).

Thompson will be honored Friday, March 13, 2015 at the 78th Maxwell Club National Awards Gala which will be held at the Tropicana Casino Resort in Atlantic City, NJ.

Also receiving awards at this event will be; J.J. Watt – Houston Texans (Bert Bell Award), Bruce Arians – Arizona Cardinals (Greasy Neale Award), Marcus Mariota – Oregon (Maxwell Award), Scooby Wright III – Arizona (Chuck Bednarik Award), Dan Mullen – Mississippi State University (The George Munger College Coach of the Year Award), Andy Talley – Villanova (The Philadelphia Insurance Companies Tri-State Coach of the Year Award), Rasheed Bailey- Delaware Valley College (The Brian Westbrook Tri-State Player of the Year Award presented by Philadelphia Insurance Companies) Jim Kelly (The Thomas Brookshier Spirit Award), and Verne Lundquist and Gary Danielson (MFC Excellence in Broadcasting Award).

Tickets for the Maxwell Football Club National Awards Gala are available for purchase on the Club’s website at:
or by calling 215-643-3833.


Photo credit:

Follow on Twitter @EPAFootball

Leave a Reply

The Funding Zone
Small Player - Big Player