The Coaches Academy Clinic
VSN Photography
Circle W Sports - The NEW name in the game for High School Sports! Scoreboard
The Funding Zone
National Scouting Report

Chiefs Rally to Win LFC Division II

Written by: on Saturday, October 30th, 2010. Follow Vince Pellegrini on Twitter.


The Chinese philosopher Confucius once said, “Our greatest glory is not in never falling but in rising every time we fall”. The Lakeland Chiefs fell behind 20-0 before rallying back and claiming at least a share of the Lackawanna Football Conference Division II crown.

Both Lakeland (AA) and Riverside (A) were eliminated from the District playoffs in the championship game a year ago. Last night, Riverside’s quarterback Corey Talerico began the scoring with a 68-yard touchdown run to put the Vikings up 6-0 in the first quarter. Talerico connected with Tommy Armillay to put the Vikes ahead, 12-0, and then Nick Rossi dashed 19-yards for Riverside’s final score midway through the second frame. At this point, Veterans’ Memorial Stadium seemed like the logical place for Riverside to acquire their ninth win of the season.

All of a sudden, the Chiefs began their comeback. Running back Al Tuzze dove in from a yard away to close the gap to 20-14. Riverside, then, had the ball deep in Lakeland territory. On a fourth-and-goal play, Talerico was picked off by #8 Jim Noldy – who ran back the return 82-yards before being tackled on the 17-yard line. On the next play, Tyler Brady scampered 17-yards to give Lakeland their first lead of the contest, 21-20.

On the ensuing drive, Riverside’s Talerico was picked off by Chief defensive back, Tony Peregrin. After a Lakeland fumble, the Chiefs defense held the Vikings on downs. Lakeland (8-1) walked away with the first conference title since 2006.

Riverside (8-1) will travel to Dunmore next Friday as the Chiefs will battle at Western Wayne.

Follow on Twitter @EPAFootball

Leave a Reply